Technical officials

Tournament director IO Johann Pöcksteiner
Chief arbiter IA Gregor Neff
Appeals commitee will be elected during the captains meeting


System and rate of play

The European Senior Team Chess Championship is an open tournament which will be played in 9 rounds Swiss System.

Time controls are 90 minutes for the first 40 moves followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an addition of 30 seconds per move starting from move one. Default time at the start of all rounds is 30 minutes.



Entitled to participate are men who have reached the age of 60 years and women who have reached the age of 50 years, by December 31st, 2015.

Teams from every member federation of the European Chess Union can participate. The teams may represent a national federation or any regional structure of a national federation. All players must be member of the same federation.

If women teams participate a special ranking will be organized.

Each team shall consist of four players in fixed order. Additionally one reserve player can be nominated who is only allowed to play on board 4.

A provisional nomination of the players and the reserve player has to be submitted together with the registration of the team. Changes in in the team can be made until the captains meeting takes place. The start ranking list will be determined by the average rating (board 1-4) of every team.